Board of Directors, 2015–16

Our board of directors provides guidance for and supervision of NCABR’s activities. It is made up of individuals from NCABR’s member institutions.

The Executive Committee, elected by the full board of directors, is responsible for implementing NCABR’s programs.

Dr. Jeffrey Everitt Chair Executive Committee

Worldwide Director, Comparative Biology and Medicine

Dr. John N. Norton Chair-Elect Executive Committee Vice Chair

Professor of Pathology
University Veterinarian
Director, Division of Laboratory Animal Resources
Duke University

Dr. Christopher Duffrin Executive Committee Treasurer

Educational Specialist and Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Brody School of Medicine
East Carolina University

Dr. Tonya R. Hargett Executive Committee Secretary

Director for Undergraduate Research
Division of Research and Economic Development
North Carolina A&T State University

Ms. Colleen Bennett Executive Committee

Oversight and Outreach Manager, Office of Research
School of Medicine
Wake Forest Baptist Health

Dr. Jeffrey M. Cheek Executive Committee

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration
Sponsored Programs and Regulatory Compliance Services
North Carolina State University

Dr. Craig Fletcher Executive Committee

Director, Division of Laboratory Animal Medicine
Assistant Dean for Animal Research Resources
Associate Professor, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dr. Kathy Laber Ex Officio Executive Committee

Chief, Comparative Medicine Branch
Attending Veterinarian
Animal Program Director
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Dr. Michael R. Van Scott Executive Committee

Interim Vice Chancellor
Division of Research, Economic Development and Engagement
Chief Research Officer
East Carolina University

Dr. Rebecca Bullard-Dillard

Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Ms. Erin Burnside

Research Protections Officer
Western Carolina University

Dr. Ruben G. Carbonell

Frank Hawkins Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Director, Golden LEAF Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center
Director, Kenan Institute
North Carolina State University

Dr. John Cavanagh

Interim President
David H. Murdock Research Institute

Dr. Mark Clemens

Professor, Department of Biology
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Dr. Scott R. Collier

Associate Professor & Program Director
Department of Health & Exercise Science
Director, Vascular Biology & Autonomic Studies Lab
Appalachian State University

Ms. Stephanie Evans

Research Compliance Officer
Office of Sponsored Programs
Winston-Salem State University

Mr. J. Scott Gibson

Executive Vice Dean for Administration
School of Medicine
Duke University

Dr. Ronald N. Hines Ex Officio

Associate Director for Health
Office of Research & Development
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Undi Hoffler

Director, Research Compliance & Technology Transfer
Interim Vice Chancellor, Research and Economic Development
North Carolina Central University

Dr. Abdelmajid Kassem

Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences
Fayetteville State University

Dr. Robert A. Lindberg

Vice President
Science & Technology Development Program
North Carolina Biotechnology Center

Ms. Linda C. McNally

Lecturer, Department of Biology
Davidson College

Dr. Kim Mihalko

Attending Veterinarian
Carolinas HealthCare System

Dr. Dorcas P. O’Rourke

Professor & Chair, Department of Comparative Medicine
Brody School of Medicine
Attending Veterinarian
East Carolina University

Dr. Mitchell J. Picker

Professor, Department of Psychology
Chair, IACUC
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mr. Douglas Puzia

Senior Business Development Leader
W.L. Gore & Associates

Dr. Terri L. Shelton

Vice Chancellor for Research and Economic Development
Carol Jenkins Mattocks Distinguished Professor
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Dr. Mary Ann Vasbinder

Director of Due Diligence for Externalized Studies,
Office of Animal Welfare, Ethics and Strategy
RD Platform Technology & Science,

Dr. Janice D. Wagner

Professor of Pathology, Emeritus
Wake Forest Baptist Health